Book Clubs

Alliance Book Club

  • What: The Alliance Book Club is dedicated to reading and discussing diverse books by and/or about members of the LGBTQ+ community.
  • When: Last Saturdays at 11 a.m.
  • Where: NorthStar LGBTQ+ Community Center
  • Who: Email Tony McCloud or call 336-703-2952 for more information.

2024 dates and titles:

  • May 25: All This could Be Different by Sarah Thankam Matthews
  • June 29: Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis Benn
  • July 27: Real Queer America by Samantha Allen
  • Aug. 31: I'm So Not Over You by Kosoko Jackson
  • Sept. 28: Perpetual West by Mesha Moren
  • Oct. 26: Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas
  • Nov. 30: Love After the End edited by Joshua Whitehead
  • Dec. 28: Young Mungo by Douglas Stewart


Click on a title in the carousel to place a hold on a title for an upcoming book club meeting or a previous month's selection. You can also call the branch to reserve a copy of the book.

County Services

Computer Training Bridge
Street name sign damaged missing or incorrect?  Report it online.

Contact Us

Central Library

660 West Fifth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Phone: 336 703 BOOK (2665)
Fax: 336 727 2549
Email: Contact Us
Hours of Operation

Limited Browsing and Borrowing
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Holiday Closings
Monday, January 1 - New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
Friday, March 29 - Good Friday
Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 - Independence Day
Monday, September 2 - Labor Day
Monday, November 11 - Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 28 - Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29 - Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 24 - Christmas holiday begins
Wednesday, December 25 - Christmas
Thursday, December 26 - Christmas